top of page
MOZARTS LAST ARIA Matt Rees cover 1.jpg


Matt Rees

Fiction, 2011

Set at the turn of the century in the fictional Persian village of Omerijan, PERSIAN BRIDES tells the magical story of two young girls – Flora and Nazie Ratoryan.


In the autumn of 1791, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart told his wife that he had been poisoned. Six weeks later, he was dead. Mozart’s long-estranged sister Nannerl, a piano prodigy herself who had toured Europe with Wolfgang, travels from Salzburg to Vienna to investigate his death. She uncovers a series of dangerous conspiracies that may be connected to Wolfgang’s murder, involving the Masons, the Austrian secret police, and a Prussian spy ring. Through Wolfgang’s last opera, The Magic Flute, she also comes closer to the brother she lost and finds love with a baron who was Wolfgang’s patron. MOZART’S LAST ARIA is based on historical facts about Mozart’s life, the art and politics of Vienna, and the story of Nannerl Mozart.


Rights Sold:

USA, HarperCollins; UK, Corvus; Germany, Beck Verlag; Indonesia, TIGA SERANGKAI" Publishing; Korea, Human & Books; Czech Republic, Daranus; Italy, Newton Compton Editori; Hungary, Tericem; France: City Editions


“Mozart’s Last Aria by Matt Rees is a combination of historical fiction/mystery novel. This is not your run-of-the-mill pot-boiler, though. It’s much more complex – and even rather magical. The book is much more profound than The DaVinci Code. In some respects it's a political tract as well as a testimony to the power of Mozart's art as well as his sister's. Mystery lovers, music lovers and history buffs will enjoy this read.” – Pamela Kramer, The Examiner

“The power politics of the day are at work and Mozart fans and code crackers will enjoy the clever musical riddle. A very readable historical mystery romp.” – The Times (UK)

“Rees nails the details of Mozart’s Vienna with precision, seasoning his story with musical details that will delight fans of classical music. A beautiful book illuminated by the author’s own musical background that moves slowly and deliberately to a fine conclusion.” – Kirkus Reviews

bottom of page