CLEAN GETAWAY

 

Nic Stone

Middle Grade, Crown, 2020 

From New York Times bestselling author Nic Stone comes a middle-grade road-trip story through American race relations past and present, perfect for fans of Jacqueline Woodson and Jason Reynolds.

How to Go on an Unplanned Road Trip with Your Grandma:
  •  Grab a Suitcase: Prepacked from the big spring break trip that got CANCELLED.
  •  Fasten Your Seatbelt: G'ma's never conventional, so this trip won't be either.
  •  Use the Green Book: G'ma's most treasured possession. It holds history, memories, and most important, the way home.

What Not to Bring:
  •  A Cell Phone: Avoid contact with Dad at all costs. Even when G'ma starts acting stranger than usual.

Set against the backdrop of the segregation history of the American South, take a trip with New York Times bestselling Nic Stone and an eleven-year-old boy who is about to discover that the world hasn't always been a welcoming place for kids like him, and things aren't always what they seem--his G'ma included.

 

 Reviews:

"An absolute firecracker of a book." -Booklist, starred review

“A heartwarming, family-centered adventure that will leave readers guessing until the end.” -Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Rich in history, Stone's middle-grade debut entertains and informs young readers....A road trip to remember."-Kirkus

"Stone has crafted a history lesson in road-trip form....a good addition for school ­libraries seeking unconventional approaches to history.” –School Library Journal

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle

Copyright © 2020 The Deborah Harris Agency | Design by LiftOfff.com