The Deborah Harris Agency
  • Search
  • Follow us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • עברית
The Deborah Harris Agency

FIRE AND BONE

FIRE AND BONE

By: MARKS, Rachel A.

Young Adult, Skyscape, 2018

In Hollywood’s underworld of demigods, druids, and ancient bonds, one girl has a dangerous future.

Sage is eighteen, down on her luck, and struggling to survive on the streets of Los Angeles. Everything changes the night she’s invited to a party—one that turns out to be a trap.

Thrust into a magical world hidden within the City of Angels, Sage discovers that she’s the daughter of a Celtic goddess, with powers that are only in their infancy. Now that she is of age, she’s asked to pledge her service to one of the five deities, all keen on winning her favor by any means possible. She has to admit that she’s tempted—especially when this new life comes with spells, Hollywood glam, and a bodyguard with secrets of his own. Not to mention a prince whose proposal could boost her rank in the Otherworld.

As loyalties shift, and as the two men vie for her attention, Sage tries to figure out whom to trust in a realm she doesn’t understand. One thing is for sure: the trap she’s in has bigger claws than she thought. And it’s going to take a lot more than magic for this Celtic demigoddess to make it out alive.

Reviews:

“Fantasy readers who enjoy Celtic mythology will revel in the detailed backstories, while romance fans will find plenty of Harlequinesque physical description…It’s certainly fun, and the abrupt ending nicely teases the sequel.” Booklist

“…A complex supernatural world based on Irish cosmology…The Irish-pantheon premise injects originality…” Kirkus Reviews

“A solid debut for older teens who love high fantasy. Recommend to fans of Victoria Aveyard’s Red Queen series.” School Library Journal

“Marks, author of the Dark Cycle YA fantasy trilogy, launches a new series perfect for those who enjoy coming-of-age novels with paranormal elements. This should be catnip for readers of Cassandra Clare and Sarah Fine.” Amazon Book Review

“Marks mashes together Irish mythology and Southern California in the brilliant start to her new series. Fire and Bone hooked me from page one, and the last page left me desperate for more.” —Beth Cato, author of The Clockwork Dagger and Breath of Earth

“Clever, addictive, and paced to steal your breath. You’ll come for the Celtic demigoddess and you’ll stay for the complex, unpredictable world. The romance is sizzling, the powers are intriguing. I look forward to the next book!” —Emily R. King, author of The Hundredth Queen