The Deborah Harris Agency
  • Search
  • Follow us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Google+
  • עברית
The Deborah Harris Agency

BORN FROM A CROCODILE EGG

BORN FROM A CROCODILE EGG

By: SADÉ, Ayelet

Picture books, 2015

Illustrated by Shiraz Fuman
Translated by Ilana Kurshan

“Sarah just told me a secret -
She was born from a crocodile egg
Sometimes she tells me such nonsense
She thinks she is pulling my leg.

I pretended that I was listening,
When she told me another tall tale -
Her father was king of the jungle
In their bathtub he’s raising a whale...”

 

In the tradition of Shel Silverstein and Jack Prelutsky comes a debut book of humorous poems for children by Israeli author Ayelet Sadé. Born From a Crocodile Egg features poems that describe the little adventures that take place in the lives of children everywhere – in the home, the backyard, at the park and around the neighborhood. The poems are full of a love for nature and animals and they are about paying attention to the little things and finding hidden treasures in one's surroundings.

 

With nods to great classics of children’s literature like Alice in Wonderland, Winnie the Pooh, The Wonderful Adventures of Nils, The Owl and the Pussycat, and more - this book already feels like a classic, and Israeli readers agree – Born From a Crocodile Egg has been on the country’s bestseller list for more than 25 weeks. 

Reviews:

“Ayelet Sadé has written magical poems that transport us to that place accessible to every child, though grownups need these kinds of poems to take us there - that place is called ‘imagination’”

– Yael Ornan, She’at Sipur (Story Hour)

 

“… like a box of surprises, [this book] contains poems with insights about how we look at life - colorful, fascinating, happy and sad, moving, frightening and funny – all from the perspective of children who will find new delights in each of the poems.” – Sivan Madar, Levinsky International College of Education